Kansas Delegation Joins Forces on Resolution to Congratulate Red Ravens on Basketball Championship

(Washington, D.C., February 2, 2022) – U.S. Senators Roger Marshall, M.D. and Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) and Congressman Jake LaTurner (KS-02), Tracey Mann (KS-01), Sharice Davids (KS-03) and Ron Estes (KS-04) today joined forces on a resolution to recognize the Coffeyville Community College men’s basketball team for winning the 2021 National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division I Championship.

“Congratulations to the Coffeyville Red Ravens Men’s Basketball team for a hard fought season that resulted in their first NJCAA Division I Championship in over half a century,” said Sen. Marshall. “The hard work, determination and tenacity of this team proved key to enduring a tough season and securing a championship win. I look forward to seeing continued success from Coach Herkelman and the Coffeyville Community College basketball program.”

“Congratulations to the Coffeyville Red Ravens on an outstanding season and for bringing home their first national championship trophy in nearly six decades,” said Sen. Moran. “As an underdog in the national tournament with a No. 10 ranking, this accomplishment is a result of hard work, determination and grit, and I’m pleased to recognize these dedicated student athletes and Coach Jay Herkelman in the United States Senate.”

“Congratulations to the Coffeyville Community College Red Ravens men’s basketball team for taking home the NJCAA Division I Championship last year,” said Rep. LaTurner. “The entire Coffeyville community should be proud of the work the players, coaches, and staff put in to achieve their first championship win since 1962. It’s an honor to represent the Red Ravens in Congress, and good luck in the rest of the 2022 season!”

The full text of the resolution can be found here.