Sen. Marshall, Daines and Senate Colleagues Lead Letter To The Department of Energy Slamming Their Harmful Gas Stove Ban

(Washington, D.C., April 17, 2023) – U.S. Senators Roger Marshall, M.D. and Steve Daines led a letter to the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Secretary, Jennifer Granholm, on the Biden Administration’s misguided ban on the sale of nearly all gas stoves in America. The proposed ban is illogical and harms hard-working Americans that are already struggling due to skyrocketing inflation. 

“The Biden Administration’s proposed ban on gas stoves is wildly out of touch with the American people and insensitive to the financial hardship the White House has pushed on families from their reckless economic policies,”  Senator Marshall said. “We will not accept this direct assault on consumer choice. Millions of Americans rely on natural gas and propane for their daily needs. I’m calling on the DOE to find energy standards that help Americans instead of restricting them.” 

The Senators wrote,

            “We firmly believe in the free market and the ability of American citizens to make their own choices,” the Senators wrote in the letter.  “By effectively banning gas stovetops through the imposition of excessively stringent efficiency standards, the Department of Energy is depriving Americans of the freedom to choose the type of appliance that best suits their needs, whether it is for cooking, heating, or any other purpose. This overreach not only infringes upon the rights of our citizens but also risks creating a potentially uncompetitive market by limiting the options available to consumers.”

You may click HERE to read Senator Marshall’s full letter to Secretary Granholm. 

Senators who signed onto the letter with Senators Marshall and Daines, were John Barrasso, M.D. (WY), Roger Wicker (MS), Todd Young (IN), Joni Ernst (IA), James Risch (ID), Cindy Hyde-Smith (MS), Markwayne Mullin (OK), John Hoeven (ND), James Lankford (OK), Ted Cruz (TX), and Bill Cassidy (LA).