Sen. Marshall Introduces Historic ‘Vote of No Confidence’ Resolution Against DHS Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Roger Marshall, M.D. dropped a vote of no confidence resolution, a historic measure that outlines the many ways the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary, Alejandro Mayorkas, has failed to fulfill the basic duties of his office and does not have the confidence of the Senate or of the American people to keep the border secure. 

“There isn’t one American who believes our southern border is secure,” Senator Marshall said. “In the real world, if you fail at your job, you get fired- the federal government should be no different. Under this administration, every state has become a border state. Fentanyl is flowing freely into our country, claiming 300 American lives a day. There is lawlessness on our streets and Sec. Mayorkas continues to look the other way.”

“Sec. Mayorkas is derelict in his duties, and I’d be derelict in mine as a U.S. Senator if I didn’t act. Sec. Mayorkas’ failures have allowed over 400,000 convicted criminal aliens into our country- threatening the safety and security of our nation. When I took an oath to serve in the military and the U.S. Senate, I promised to protect our country from enemies both domestic and abroad.” 

“This resolution puts the secretary on notice, and I am proud to have the support of 14 of my Republican colleagues in the Senate. We now look to the House to take the next step, and I stand ready for Sec. Mayorkas’ impeachment trial.” 

Senator Marshall is proud to have the support of Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Mike Braun (R-IN), Ted Budd (R-NC), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Mike Lee (R-UT), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Jim Risch (R-ID), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Rick Scott (R-FL), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), and J.D. Vance (R-OH) on his ‘Vote of No Confidence’ Resolution. You may click HERE to read the full resolution.