Sen. Marshall Legislation to Ensure Protections and Affordable Coverage for Americans With Pre-Existing Conditions

(Washington, D.C., February 10, 2021) – This week, U.S. Senators Roger Marshall, M.D., Thom Tillis (NC), Joni Ernst (IA), Rob Portman (OH), John Cornyn (TX), Cindy Hyde-Smith (MS), Shelley Moore Capito (WV), Ron Johnson (WI), Richard Burr (NC), and Todd Young (IN) plan to reintroduce the Protect Act, legislation to protect Americans with pre-existing conditions and ensure Americans will never be denied health care coverage or be charged more because of a pre-existing condition.

“As a physician, I’ve dedicated my career to putting my patients’ health first,” said Senator Marshall. “The Protect Act would protect Kansan patients by prohibiting insurance companies from raising premiums, banning or denying coverage, and excluding benefits to patients based on a pre-existing condition. I will continue to work with my colleagues to advance patient-centered health care that improves access to quality and affordable care, and puts people back in charge of their health care.”


The Protect Act amends the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) to:

  • Guarantee the availability of health insurance coverage in the individual or group market, regardless of pre-existing conditions;
  • Prohibit discrimination against patients based on health status – including prohibiting increased premiums for patients due to pre-existing conditions; and
  • Prohibit insurance companies from excluding coverage of treatments for a beneficiary’s pre-existing condition. 

Read more about the Protect Act HERE.