Sen. Marshall Seeks to Honor 13 American Heroes Killed in Afghanistan with Congressional Gold Medals

(Washington, D.C., September 16, 2021) – U.S. Senator Roger Marshall, M.D. joined his colleagues in introducing a bipartisan bill to award the 13 American servicemembers who lost their lives in Afghanistan on August 26th  Congressional Gold Medals.

“The 13 U.S. servicemembers who made the ultimate sacrifice in the service of our nation and defense of our freedoms deserve our eternal gratitude and respect,” said Senator Marshall. “These American heroes served with valor until the very end, and we owe it to them to commemorate their sacrifices with the Congressional Gold Medal.”

This bipartisan bill would award Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole L. Gee, Staff Sgt. Darin T. Hoover, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan W. Page, Cpl. Humberto A. Sanchez, Lance Cpl. David L. Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared M. Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee J. McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan R. Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem M. Nikoui, Navy Corpsman Maxton W. Soviak and Staff Sgt. Ryan C. Knauss with the Congressional Gold Medal.

Senators Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Tina Smith (D-Minn.),  Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Mark Warner (D-Va.) have also cosponsored the bill.

U.S. Representative Lisa McClain (R-MI) introduced a companion bill in the U.S. House of Representatives.