Senator Marshall Leads Letter to DOE Opposing Proposed Rule on Energy Conservation Standards

Washington, D.C. –  U.S. Senator Roger Marshall, M.D., led the Kansas delegation and nearly the entire Missouri delegation in sending a letter to Jennifer Granholm, Secretary of the Department of Energy (DOE), opposing their proposed rule that would impact the ability of electric utilities to get distribution transformers. Electric distribution transformers are critical in ensuring reliable and safe electricity for Kansas and Missouri. Safeguarding our electrical grid is important to maintaining our economic and national security. The Biden administration’s rule poses a threat to the resiliency of our electricity system. 

Highlights from the letter include:

“The rule, if finalized, could significantly impact the ability of electric utilities to obtain distribution transformers, which are a critical grid component for ensuring reliability and resilience,” the Members wrote in the letter. 

“Over the past few years, the supply chain constraint for distribution transformers has grown significantly, with demand far outstripping current rates of production. Since 2020, the average lead times to procure distribution transformers for all voltage classes increased 429%,” the letter said. 

“In our states of Kansas and Missouri, utilities are experiencing lead times of more than three years to  secure distribution transformers. In some cases, manufacturers facing overwhelming demand have stopped accepting bids altogether,” the letter reads. “The current shortages are posing threats to the reliability and resiliency of our electricity system, as well as impacting new home construction and economic development.”

“While DOE claims that this proposed rule would lead to greater efficiency, it is important to also note that the expected increase in energy efficiency under DOE’s rule would increase by an amount of less than one percent—negligible for such a burdensome and harmful overhaul,” the letter said. 

“Grid security and reliability is central to our economic and national security,” the Members said. “We respectfully urge you to withdraw the proposed rule and thank you for your consideration.”

Senator Roger Marshall led this letter with Senators Jerry Moran (R-Kansas), Josh Hawley (R-Missouri), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), and U.S. Representatives Ron Estes (R-KS), Sharice Davids (D-KS), Jake LaTurner (R-KS), Tracey Mann (R-KS), Mark Alford (R-MO), Eric Burlison (R-MO), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO), Sam Graves (R-MO), Jason Smith (R-MO), Ann Wagner (R-MO), Emanuel Cleaver (D-MO). 

You may click HERE to read the full letter to Secretary Granholm.