Sens. Moran, Marshall Announce Grants to Support Community Policing Initiatives in Kansas

(Washington, D.C., October 7, 2021) – U.S. Senators Jerry Moran (R-Kan.) and Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-Kan.) today announced $768,191 in grants from the Department of Justice’s (DOJ) Office of Community Oriented Policing Services to support community policing initiatives in Kansas. The Community Policing Development Program (CPD) grants will support the expansion of crisis intervention teams, which incorporate mental and behavioral health services into law enforcement responses, and address gaps in current state accreditation.

“Crisis intervention teams have been deployed across the country, including in Kansas, with tremendous success,” said Sen. Moran. “This community-based approach provides our law enforcement professionals with valuable expertise and the assistance needed to effectively and appropriately respond to individuals experiencing a mental health crisis. As an appropriator for the Department of Justice, I remain steadfast in my commitment to supporting our law enforcement and will continue working to make certain they have the tools and resources necessary to keep our communities safe.”

“As the son of a police chief, I understand the key role law enforcement plays in the well-being of Kansas communities,” said Sen. Marshall. “These meaningful investments will enable more effective community policing across our state, as well as provide the proper training and resources needed for our brave police officers to drive down crime and keep Kansans safe.”

Sen. Moran is the lead Republican of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies, which funds the Department of Justice.

Grant recipients:

  • Johnson County – $186,037 for implementation of Crisis Intervention Teams
  • City of Olathe – $250,000 for implementation of Crisis Intervention Teams
  • City of Overland Park – $232,154 for implementation Crisis Intervention Teams
  • University of Kansas Center for Research, Inc. – $100,000 to address gaps in state accreditation