Sens. Marshall, Moran Announce $800,000 in Grants to Support Kansas Law Enforcement

(Washington, D.C., October 13, 2021) – U.S. Senators Roger Marshall, M.D. and Jerry Moran today announced $839,491 in Department of Justice grants to support Kansas law enforcement. These grants will be dispersed to 10 communities across Kansas.

“As the son of a police chief, I have the utmost respect for our nation’s law enforcement officers,” said Senator Marshall. “I was proud to advocate for the full funding of the Byrne JAG program over the summer, and am pleased to see the criminal justice system in Kansas receive adequate funding so it can operate effectively. These meaningful investments ensure the men and women who risk their lives to protect us receive the assistance and training they need, resulting in more secure communities throughout our state.”

“As crime rates are increasing, these grants will fund the purchase of new equipment, development of outreach programs and update outdated technology to help our local law enforcement carry out their responsibilities to protect our communities,” said Senator Moran. “Through my role as the lead Republican on the subcommittee that funds these grants, I am working to make certain we provide every officer, captain, lieutenant, chief and sheriff with the resources they need to fulfill their duties.”

Grant Recipients:

  • Sedgwick County $443,481
  • Wyandotte County – $100,030
  • City of Olathe – $81,107
  • Shawnee County – $79,639
  • City of Lawrence – $30,505
  • City of Leavenworth – $30,016
  • Riley County $24,567
  • City of Salina – $21,435
  • Junction City – $14,747
  • Garden City – $13,964

# # #